Excerpt from speech by El Hajj Malik Shabazz aka Malcolm X at the Homecoming Rally of the Organization of Afro-American Unity, New York City, 29 Nov. 1964

“…but I think then the white man should know one thing-when I say white man, I’m not saying all of you, whatever you are, because some of you might be all right. And whichever one of you acts all right with me, you’re all right with me, as long as you act all right. But if you don’t act all right, you’re not all right. All you’ve got do to be right with me is act all right. But don’t come thinking you’re all right just because you are white.
   I think that that point has to be made because if you don’t clarify it, they go out of here saying you’re a racist, that you’re against all white people. We are not against all white people. We are against all those that aren’t all right…

…It should be emphasized over and over and over by you and me that we aren’t racists. One of the worst categories to let them put you in is the category of a racist.

…I’m not a racist. I don’t judge a man because of his color. I get suspicious of a lot of them and cautious around a lot of them- from experience. Not because of their color, but because of what experience has taught me concerning their overall behavior towards us. So, please don’t ever go away saying that we are against people because of their color. We are against them because of what they do to us and because of what they do to others. Al they have to do to get our good will is to show their good will and stop doing all those dirty things to our people. Is that understood?”
Excerpt from speech by El Hajj Malik Shabazz aka Malcolm X at the Homecoming Rally of the Organization of Afro-American Unity, New York City, 29 Nov. 1964

  

Leave a Reply

