Move over cauliflower crust!!! Breadfruit crust is taking over!!!

  So a few months ago I made a cauliflower crust and when I tasted it for some reason I thought about my Jamaican half and the different produce I’d been introduced to as a child. I then thought which of the starchy plants would make a good crust. Then breadfruit popped into my head.  I went to a few Spanish markets nearby in search of breadfruit but I was unsuccessful in finding any. 

A few weeks ago my sister told me about an international market very close by so I checked it out. This place is so amazing with fruits and veggies from all over the world. It has instantly become one of my favorite places to shop. More about that later…

Ingredients used:

1 Medium sized breadfruit

2 eggs

2-3 teaspoons Parmesan cheese

2 cups mozzarella cheese
Toppings:

Green olives

Spinach 

Mozzarella cheese

Fiesta blend shredded cheese
Sauce:

1/2 onion

1 cup salsa

1 medium tomato
So I basically applied the same instructions for preparing cauliflower crust. 

First I pealed the breadfruit. 

  
Then I grated it. This step would be much easier with a food processor. 

  
Next I placed the grated breadfruit on a cookie sheet and baked it at 350 for 20 minutes.

After baking I attempted to squeeze any liquid from the breadfruit but found there wasn’t much so I just proceeded to the next step.

I mixed 3 eggs (next time I will only do 2) a  few tablespoons of Parmesan cheese and about a cup of mozzarella cheese together. I then combined this mixture with the grated breadfruit. 
  
Next take a piece of parchment paper and cover a cookie sheet or pizza stone. Then spray nonstick oil on parchment paper. 

(WARNING: DO NOT USE WAX PAPER. PARCHMENT PAPER MUST BE USED INSTEAD. CRUST WILL STICK TO WAX PAPER).

Evenly spread the mixture on the cookie sheet or pizza stone. 

  
Bake the crust on 350-375 for about 15-20 minutes or until the edges are golden.

  
Finally add your desired toppings. I took half an onion, a whole tomato, and a cup of salsa and blended it for a sauce. My toppings included mozzarella, green olives, and spinach. 

  

Bake for another 15-20 minutes.

  
This pizza was soooooo delicious!!! It folded just like a doughy pizza but then again I didn’t expect anything less from a fruit that tastes like a pastry. 

Leave a Reply

